Scroll to top

Burgundy white wines

These first sunny days make me feel like tasting some nice white wines!

Let’s head off to Burgundy, a complex region where Chardonnay is the king variety. According to my investigations, it came from Croatia before the Romans cultivated it. It is a grape variety that flourishes in a very different way whether it is cultivated in the North on the cool, Kimmeridgian terroirs of Chablis or in the South, in the Maconnais region, where the sun brings it maturity and roundness.

Did you know that a village in the Maconnais is called Chardonnay? And that our American friends, fans of this grape, would not miss “Chardonnay Day” for anything in the world?

Burgundy is also the only region where, when talking about “Climat”, we don’t raise our eyes to the sky, we lower them to the ground. Indeed, this term does not refer to the weather, but to parcels of vines, carefully delimited according to very specific criteria such as history, soil, subsoil, geolocation, micro-climate, etc,.

Another grape variety from Burgundy that I would like to mention is the Aligoté. Yes, Ladies and Gentlemen, this grape is on its way to becoming one of the greatest in the years to come, trust my intuition. This variety can be complex when grown on beautiful terroirs and it offers wines full of vivacity.

But let’s get back to our topic, and please join me to discover some emblematic estates’ vintages, which should at best give you an irrepressible urge to open a bottle, at worst, salivate just by the thought of it.

 

DOMAINE VINCENT DAUVISSAT

Is it still necessary to present this major Chablis estate? It has shaped the reputation of Chablis for three generations. Vincent Dauvissat has been running the estate with a master’s hand since 1989. Wines produced with extreme rigour, without ever claiming it, the estate is run according to the principles of biodynamics. Wines are aged in oak barrels in a perfect balance, where the wood is never overwhelming. These wines are made to be kept.

His exceptional Chablis Grand Cru les Preuses 2019 is as rare as it is stunning. A top Chardonnay from this magnificent terroir renowned for its minerality, Les Preuses finds its origin in the word stone. The nose is finely iodised and subtle. The long palate reveals notes of peach and lemon zest, the texture is delicate as silk. The energy of the wine is striking. Amazing, truly amazing.

Dauvissat

This wine pairs divinely with creamy Osciètre caviar, a trout with almonds, or sautéed prawns with an Asian sauce.

DOMAINE FELETTIG

Discreet, the wines of the estate have existed since 1969 under the management of Henri and Reine Felletig. Today, the estate is managed by their children, Christine and Gilbert. All the parcels are managed using sustainable viticulture. The estate extends from Gevrey-Chambertin through Chambolle-Musigny, Beaune and the Hautes-Côtes de Nuit.

The 2018 Nuit Saint-Georges 1er Cru Les Terres Blanches has a pale yellow colour. On the nose, notes of white flowers, acacia, and citrus fruit. The palate is straight, chiselled and pure! A superb, sincere and confidential cuvée, with barely 900 bottles produced per year. Its name comes from the fact that the soil is strewn with small white pebbles and limestone.

Felettig

If you wish to taste this beautiful bottle, I advise you to treat yourself with a Linguine alle Vongole (my favourite sin), which secret is… a lot of Vongole! A soufflé with comté cheese or a roasted sea bass with almonds and fennel.

DOMAINE ANNE GROS

Since 1988, Anne has taken over her parents’ estate in Vosne-Romanée, she is the 6th generation. Known for her red wines, she also produces remarkably well-balanced white wines. The estate works with sustainable methods and the preservation of biodiversity is essential.

Anne produces a brilliant white 2020 Hautes Côtes de Nuit cuvée Marine. Produced on barely one hectare, with a lovely light gold colour, the nose opens with exotic, lemony and saline notes. On the palate, it offers a minerality and a singular tension that awakens the taste buds. The grapes are picked when ripe and the wine is aged in 500 litre-barrels, 30% of which are new. A very harmonious wine.

Anne Gros

This wine is to be enjoyed with pan-fried langoustines, a quiche with chanterelles and porcini mushrooms, or a mature Beaufort cheese!

DOMAINE ANNE BOISSON

Anne Boisson is not just a winegrower; she is the daughter of winegrowers and produces amazing wines in Meursault with her brother Pierre. They reflect the terroir and the Burgundian way of working to perfection: author wines and hard work. The grapes are meticulously sorted, the wines are unfiltered to keep all the soul and sap of the wine.

Her 2018 Meursault Sous la Velle is a gem. Its colour is golden and brilliant, its nose intense with toasted bread, and floral notes. The mouth is the final bouquet, a beautiful fatness enveloping your whole palate with voluptuousness. “Sous la Velle” means Village in the Burgundian dialect! The vines for this wine are located below the village of Meursault. Its ageing is long, as is its ageing potential!

Anne Boisson

You may try it with a turbot with citrus fruits or a chicken with morels.

DOMAINE HUDELOT NOELLAT

Another great estate producing Haute-Couture Meursault. Since 2008, the estate has been taken in hand by Charles Van Caneyt, grandson of Alain Hudelot. Since then, a more committed work for the respect for the soil and nature, an estate in constant evolution to keep an eye on!

The 2018 Meursault Village Clos des Ecoles is particularly bewitching! The light, yellow colour leads to a nose of ripe citrus fruits, vine peach. The mouth is pure and long, offering a touch of salinity, white fruits, and fatness. A 16-month ageing in oak barrels gives texture to this great gastronomic white.

Hudelot Noellat

Of course, let’s try it with a risotto! Mushrooms or asparagus, salmon with beurre blanc.

DOMAINE LEFLAIVE

This mythical estate in Puligny-Montrachet was born in 1920 and is now run by Brice de la Morandière (and was admirably managed by Anne-Claude Leflaive, a pioneer of Biodynamic viticulture for 25 years). The quality and regularity of the wines make it a serious and well-known estate. The quality of the wines is always amazing, close to grace…

The estate produces a fabulous 2019 Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru Clavoillon. This first growth is particularly delicate. Golden yellow in colour, the nose exudes notes of stewed white fruit, butter, and lemon. The palate is vibrant, straight, fresh, and full. The wine is aged for several months in barrel and can be kept for at least fifteen years. The intensity of the great terroirs is recognisable in the Leflaive style!

Leflaive

We like to taste it with a semi-cooked foie gras, a Bresse poultry, or scallops and a leek fondue.

DOMAINE D’AUVENAY

This micro estate of 3.87 hectares located in the commune of Auxey-Duresses belongs to one of the great figures of Burgundy, Lalou-Bize-Leroy. Cultivation is entirely biodynamic. It produces an Aligoté that is as rare as it is extraordinary, one that can compete with any great Chardonnay.

The 2015 Bourgogne Aligoté Sous Chatelet is simply phenomenal. The nose is ripe and mineral, the palate is a monumental slap in the face, powerful, mineral, and lively, it stretches out for endless seconds. The texture is amazingly dense. Blind tasting? We could go for a great Puligny. Make way for the Aligoté!

A meditation wine in its purest expression.

D'Auvenay

DOMAINE LES HERITIERS DU COMTE LAFON

The one and only Maconnais estate that has made a name for itself for several years! Led by Dominique Lafon and Caroline Gon, it is very demanding and is totally biodynamic. What is the talent of the vintages? Keeping freshness in all the wines by combining the roundness and the fatness of the nice ripe Chardonnay.

The 2020 Macon Clos du Four is a jewel! Surely the flagship cuvée of the estate, with its colour of brioche just out of the oven, its nose marked by silex, pear, and truffle! Its mouth is full of flesh, with notes of fresh fruit and lemon. A true bombshell! This parcel is located at an altitude of 250m, in the commune of Milly Lamartine.

Héritiers du comte Lafon

It is perfect with a sea bass with herbs, a vegetable curry with coconut milk, a ceviche of sea bream. Yummy!

If you don’t fancy a glass of Burgundy white wine yet, let yourself be carried away by these great terroirs and start cooking, there is nothing better to whet your appetite.

The author of the article

Alessandra Fottorino is a sommelier-trainer, agent, consultant, and author. She is a member of the Competition and Tasting Jury of Régal and Terres de Vin magazines, and is passionate about biodynamic, natural and orange wines. Alessandra is committed to increasing the visibility of women in the wine world.

Related posts

Scroll to top

Vins blancs de Bourgogne

Ces premiers rayons de soleil qui pointent le bout de leur nez me donnent envie de me déguster de jolis vins blancs de Bourgogne !

Cap sur la Bourgogne, région complexe où le Chardonnay, cépage roi, qui selon mes investigations, viendrait de Croatie avant d’avoir été implanté par les romains. Un cépage qui s’épanouit de manière bien différente qu’il soit cultivé au Nord sur les terroirs frais et kimmeridgiens du Chablisien ou au Sud de la région dans le Maconnais où le soleil apporte maturité et rondeur.

Saviez-vous qu’un village du Maconnais se nomme Chardonnay ? Et que nos amis américains, fans de ce raisin ne rateraient pour rien au monde le Chardonnay Day ?

La Bourgogne est aussi la seule région où quand on parle de « Climat, on ne lève pas les yeux au ciel, on les baisse sur la terre » En effet, ce terme ne fait pas référence à la météo, mais à des parcelles de vignes, soigneusement délimitées selon des critères bien spécifiques tels que l’histoire, le sol, le sous-sol, la géolocalisation, le micro-climat etc.

Enfin, un autre cépage bourguignon où je réclame toute votre attention, c’est l’Aligoté. Oui Mesdames Messieurs, ce raisin est en passe de devenir un grand parmi les grands dans les années à venir, croyez en mon intuition. Il peut s’avérer complexe cultivé sur de beaux terroirs et offrir des vins pleins de vivacité.

Mais revenons à nos moutons, je vous propose de découvrir quelques cuvées de Domaines emblématiques qui devraient au mieux vous donner une terrible envie d’ouvrir une bouteille, au pire, de saliver en y pensant.

DOMAINE VINCENT DAUVISSAT

Est-ce encore la peine de présenter ce domaine incontournable du Chablisien ? Cultivé depuis trois générations, il a forgé la réputation des Chablis. Vincent Dauvissat dirige le domaine de main de maître depuis 1989. Des vins blancs de Bourgogne produits avec une rigueur extrême, sans jamais le revendiquer, le domaine est conduit selon les principes de la biodynamie. Les vins sont vieillis en fûts de chêne dans un équilibre parfait ou le bois n’est jamais trop présent. Des vins taillés pour la garde.

Sa cuvée exceptionnelle de Chablis Grand Cru les Preuses 2019 est aussi rare que renversante. Un Chardonnay au sommet issu de ce magnifique terroir réputé pour sa minéralité, Les Preuses trouvant son origine dans le mot pierre. Le nez est finement iodé et subtil. La bouche longiligne révèle des notes de pêche et de zest de citron, la texture est délicate comme la soie. L’Energie du vin est frappante. Grand, très grand.

Dauvissat

S’accompagne divinement avec un caviar de variété Oscietre à la texture crémeuse, une truite aux amandes, Gambas sautées à l’asiatique.

DOMAINE FELETTIG

Discrets, Les vins du domaine existent depuis 1969 sous la direction d’Henri et Reine Felletig. Aujourd’hui géré par les enfants, Christine et Gilbert. Toutes les parcelles du domaine sont conduites en lutte raisonnée. Le domaine s’étend de Gevrey-Chambertin en passant par Chambolle-Musigny, Beaune et les Hautes-Côtes de Nuit.

Le Nuit Saint-Georges 1er Cru Les Terres Blanches 2018 est doté d’une robe jaune pâle. Au nez, des notes de fleurs blanches, d’acacia et d’agrumes. La bouche est droite, ciselée et pure ! Superbe cuvée sincère et confidentielle, à peine 900 bouteilles produites par an. Son nom vient du fait que le sol soit parsemé de petits cailloutis blancs et calcaires.

Felettig

Avec cette belle bouteille, je vous propose des Linguine alle Vongole (mon péché mignon), le secret ? Beaucoup de Vongole. Un soufflé au comté ou bien un pavé de bar rôti aux amandes et fenouil.

DOMAINE ANNE GROS

Depuis 1988, Anne a repris le domaine de ses parents à Vosne-Romanée, elle est la 6ème génération. Connue pour ses rouges, elle élabore également des blancs à l’équilibre remarquable. Le domaine travaille en lutte raisonnée, la préservation de la biodiversité est essentielle.

Anne produit un Hautes Côtes de Nuit blanc cuvée Marine 2020 éclatant. Produit sur à peine 1hectare, d’une jolie couleur or clair, le nez s’ouvre sur des notes à la fois exotiques, citronnées et salines. En bouche le vin offre une minéralité et une tension singulière qui réveille les papilles. Les raisins sont ramassés mûrs et le vin élevé en fût de 500 litres dont 30% de bois neuf. L’harmonie est au rendez-vous !

Anne Gros

A déguster avec une poêlée de Langoustines, une quiche aux girolles et cèpes ou encore un Beaufort affinée !

DOMAINE ANNE BOISSON

Je vous parle ici d’une vigneronne, et par n’importe laquelle, Anne Boisson, fille de vignerons, produit à Meursault avec son frère Pierre des vins brillants, qui reflètent le terroir et le travail à la bourguignonne à la perfection. Des vins d’auteurs et de labeur. Les raisins sont minutieusement triés, les vins non filtrés pour garder toute l’âme et la sève du vin.

Son Meursault Sous la Velle 2018 est une pépite. Sa robe est dorée et brillante, son nez intense de pain grillé, toasté et floral. La bouche est le bouquet final, un sublime gras qui enveloppe tout votre palais, de l’art de la volupté. Sous la Velle signifie Village en patois Bourguignon ! Les vignes de cette cuvée sont situées en contrebas du village de Meursault. L’élevage est long tout comme son potentiel de garde !

Anne Boisson

Essayez donc avec un turbo aux agrumes ou encore une poularde aux morilles

DOMAINE HUDELOT NOELLAT

Cap sur un autre grand domaine qui produit des Meursault de haute couture. Depuis 2008, le domaine est pris en main par Charles Van Caneyt, petit fils d’Alain Hudelot. Depuis lors, un travail plus engagé pour le respect du sol et du vivant, un domaine en constante évolution, à suivre !

Le Meursault Village Clos des Ecoles 2018 est particulièrement envoutant ! La couleur Jaune clair amène ensuite un nez d’agrumes mûrs, de pêche de vigne, la bouche est pure et longue, offrant une touche de salinité, de fruits blancs et de gras. Un élevage de 16 mois en fût de chêne amène de la texture à ce grand blanc de gastronomie.

Hudelot Noellat

Evidemment allons sur un risotto ! Champignons ou asperges, un saumon au beurre blanc.

DOMAINE LEFLAIVE

Ce domaine mythique sur Puligny-Montrachet existant depuis 1920 est  aujourd’hui dirigé par Brice de la Morandière ( et fût admirablement mené par Anne-Claude Leflaive, pionnière de la Biodynamie durant 25 ans). La qualité et la régularité en fait un domaine sérieux et réputé. Le niveau des vins est toujours épatant, on s’approche parfois de la grâce…

Le domaine produit un Puligny-Montrachet 1er Cru Clavoillon 2019 fabuleux. Ce cru est particulièrement délicat. D’une couleur jaune doré, son nez exhale des notes de fruits blancs compotés, du beurre et du citron. La bouche est vibrante, à la fois droite, fraîche et ample. Le vin est élevé plusieurs mois en fût et sa capacité de garde est d’au moins quinze ans. On reconnait au style Leflaive l’intensité des grands terroirs !

Leflaive

On aime le déguster avec un foie gras mi-cuit, une volaille de bresse, des noix de Saint Jacques et leur fondue de poireaux.

DOMAINE D’AUVENAY

Ce micro domaine de 3.87 hectares situé sur la commune d’Auxey-Duresses appartient à une des grandes figures de la Bourgogne, Lalou-Bize-Leroy. La culture est entièrement biodynamique. Elle y produit un Aligoté aussi rare qu’extraordinaire ! Le genre qui concurrence n’importe quel grand Chardonnay.

Le Bourgogne Aligoté Sous Chatelet 2015 est tout simplement phénoménal. D’une couleur jaune clair et brillante, le nez est mur et minéral, la bouche c’est une claque monumentale, puissante, minérale et vive, elle s’étire toute en longueur durant de longues, très longues secondes. La texture est bluffante de densité. A l’aveugle ? Nous pourrions partir sur un grand Puligny. Faites place à l’Aligoté !

Vin de méditation dans sa plus pure expression.

D'Auvenay

DOMAINE LES HERITIERS DU COMTE LAFON

LE domaine du Maconnais qui s’impose depuis plusieurs années ! Mené par Dominique Lafon aux côtés de Caroline Gon, l’exigence est de mise et a culture entièrement biodynamique. Le talent des cuvées ? Garder de la fraîcheur dans tous les vins en alliant la rondeur et le gras des jolis Chardonnay bien mûrs.

Le Macon Clos du Four 2020 est un bijou ! Surement la cuvée phare du domaine, avec sa couleur de brioche sortie du four, son nez est marqué par la pierre à fusil, la poire et la truffe ! La bouche est pleine de chair, des notes de fruits frais et de citron. Quelle bombe ! Cette parcelle se trouve à 250m d’altitude, sur la commune de Milly Lamartine.

Héritiers du comte Lafon

Idéal avec un bar aux herbes, un Curry de légumes au lait de coco, un ceviche de daurade, miam !

Si avec cela vous n’avez pas envie d’un verre de vin blanc de Bourgogne ! Laissez-vous porter par ces grands terroirs et mettez-vous aux fourneaux, rien de mieux pour se mettre en appétit.

L’auteure de l’article

Alessandra Fottorino est sommelière-formatrice, agent, consultante et auteure. Elle participe au Jury Concours et Dégustations des magazines Régal et Terre de Vin, se passionne pour les vins biodynamiques, natures et les vins orange. Alessandra est engagée pour une meilleure visibilité des femmes dans le monde du vin.

Related posts